Selling or dispensing marijuana in a legal manner is a relatively new arena for professional license defense attorneys, especially regarding recreational marijuana. However, it is a timely topic here in California as well as a viable business venture. As such, it may be time for license defense attorneys to broach the business licensing aspects of marijuana dispensaries.
As you might expect, the best way to protect your marijuana business license is to make sure you remain compliant with the state's cannabis laws. Below you will find a few tips to help you maintain this compliance.
Do not forget to report your business activities. Regulations require all cannabis retailers to report information on the sale of cannabis, any returned marijuana and the disposal of waste cannabis. These reports must be made on a daily basis.
Make certain your physical inventory matches your recorded data. All businesses must reconcile their accounts, and marijuana dispensaries are no exception. Regulations stipulate that cannabis businesses must make these reconciliations every 14 days.
Like businesses that sell alcohol or tobacco, it is your responsibility to verify the age of your customers. Only adults 21 years or older can purchase recreational cannabis. Only people 18 years or older are allowed to purchase marijuana for medical use.
If you maintain a professional approach and demeanor in your marijuana business, it makes sense that the California Bureau of Cannabis Control will treat you as a professional. Dispensing recreational cannabis is still a baby in terms of its regulation across the nation.
As such, you may benefit from having an experienced legal advocate to help you overcome any obstacles that may arise. This will help you protect your livelihood and your license to operate.
Source: IndicaOnline, "4 Keys to Cannabis Compliance for Marijuana Dispensaries," accessed Feb. 16, 2018